Posted by DavidGreen
Nov 19, 2019


At the conclusion of every Major League Baseball season following the World Series the best MLB players in professional baseball are awarded for their outstanding work that they put into the rigorous 162 game regular season. These achievements are very difficult to earn and are highly coveted by all big league players.

The awards include the Most Valuable Player Award, the Cy Young Award, the Manager of the Year Award, the Rookie of the Year Award, the Reliever of the Year Award, the Gold Glove Award, the Silver Slugger Award, the Platinum Glove, and the Hank Aaron Award. Each honor is awarded to a player in the National League and a player in the American League. Below is the complete list of the winners from the 2019 MLB season.


American League: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

(Runners up: Alex Bregman, Houston Astros; Marcus Semien, Oakland Athletics)

National League: Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers

(Runners up: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers; Anthony Rendon, Washington Nationals)

Cy Young

American League: Justin Verlander, Houston Astros

(Runner ups: Gerrit Cole, Houston Astros; Charlie Morton, Tampa Bay Rays)

National League: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets

(Runners up: Hyun-Jin Ryu, Los Angeles Dodgers; Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals)

Rookie of the Year

American League: Yordan Alvarez, Houston Astros

(Runners up: Brandon Lowe, Tampa Bay Rays; John Means, Baltimore Orioles)

National League: Pete Alonso, New York Mets

(Runners up: Mike Soroka, Atlanta Braves; Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres)

Manager of the Year

American League: Rocco Baldelli, Minnesota Twins

(Runners up: Aaron Boone, New York Yankees; Kevin Cash, Tampa Bay Rays)

National League: Mike Shildt, Saint Louis Cardinals

(Runners up: Craig Counsell, Milwaukee Brewers; Brian Snitker, Atlanta Braves)

Gold Gloves

American League

Pitcher: Mike Leake, Seattle Mariners/Arizona Diamondbacks

Catcher: Roberto Perez, Cleveland Indians

First Base: Matt Olson, Oakland Athletics

Second Base: Yolmer Sanchez, Chicago White Sox

Shortstop: Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians

Third Base: Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics

Left Field: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals

Center Field: Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays

Right Field: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

National League

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks/Houston Astros

Catcher: JT Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies

First Base: Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs

Second Base: Kolten Wong, Saint Louis Cardinals

Shortstop: Nick Ahmed, Arizona Diamondbacks

Third Base: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

Left Field: David Peralta, Arizona Diamondbacks

Center Field: Lorenzo Cain, Milwaukee Brewers

Right Field: Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers

Silver Sluggers

American League

Catcher: Mitch Garver, Minnesota Twins

First base: Carlos Santana, Cleveland Indians

Second base: DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees

Third base: Alex Bregman, Houston Astros

Shortstop: Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

Outfield: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox; George Springer, Houston Astros; Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

Designated hitter: Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins

National League

Catcher: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies

First base: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

Second base: Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves

Third base: Anthony Rendon, Washington Nationals

Shortstop: Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies

Outfield: Ronald Acuna Jr., Atlanta Braves; Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers; Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

Relievers of the Year

American League: Aroldis Chapman, New York Yankees

National League: Josh Hader, Milwaukee Brewers

Platinum Glove

American League: Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics

National League: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

Hank Aaron Award

American League: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

National League: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers

These outstanding players should all be back at it again next season, but for now they have a much deserved offseason until next February of 2020 when players begin to report to their spring training destinations. I congratulate all of the winners above, and I look forward to the next year of Major League Baseball.


"MLB awards 2019: Tracking all the winners of baseball's major awards, including MVP and Cy Young”, Stephen Pianovich, cbssports.com, November 14, 2019.


Gialmere Nov 20, 2019

Thank you for the post but man the photos for this article are confusing.

Please login or register in order to leave a comment