9 votes (14.06%)
2 votes (3.12%)
1 vote (1.56%)

64 members have voted

billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 240
December 3rd, 2020 at 11:33:17 AM permalink
Both hot wings and beef on a wreck seem to have started in the Buffalo area. While it is part of New York, Buffalo is actually further away from NYC than Richmond Virginia, and its regional foods have only recently penetrated the Metro area.
Beef on a wreck in Buffalo is special because of the type of roll it uses. I'm not sure if the exact recipe is followed elsewhere, but those rolls are pretty elusive.
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
Joeman
Joeman
  • Threads: 36
December 3rd, 2020 at 11:46:15 AM permalink
A Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant opened in Gainesville FL when I was a student at UF. Back then, the name was "Buffalo Wild Wings & Weck" or BW3 for short. I guess they got tired of people asking, "What's a weck?" and dropped it from their name.
"Dealer has 'rock'... Pay 'paper!'"
AZDuffman
AZDuffman
December 3rd, 2020 at 12:59:56 PM permalink
Quote: billryan

Both hot wings and beef on a wreck seem to have started in the Buffalo area. While it is part of New York, Buffalo is actually further away from NYC than Richmond Virginia, and its regional foods have only recently penetrated the Metro area.
Beef on a wreck in Buffalo is special because of the type of roll it uses. I'm not sure if the exact recipe is followed elsewhere, but those rolls are pretty elusive.

Way, way back there was a game in Buffalo that John Madden was announcing. He tried doing local color and called it "Beef on Wikki." The Buffalo people watching were not amused. We still mention it to annoy them.

NYC people think Buffalo is some sort of different state or something. It is hard to explain how close they are to being correct. When I had to deal with the government it was night and day to how they treated our downstate branches.
All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others