kewlj
kewlj
  • Threads: 216
June 29th, 2013 at 8:54:09 AM permalink
I am not going to get into the politics of gun control or the stand your ground law, but am going to limit my thoughts to the oddities of the trial so far, which it seems to just be filled with.

1.) All female jury. Does this seem acceptable to anyone? Is this reflective of that community? I am not a lawyer, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn express last night, but I would think this could be grounds for an appeal for either losing side.

2.) In the murder trial of a Juvenile 17 year old, an opening statement, beginning with a knock knock joke. Really??? :( Very disturbing. Again, no legal training and no Holiday Inn Express, but.....grounds for appeal ?

3.) A key witness for the prosecution, who no matter which side you are pulling for or whether you believe her testimony or not, she was just horrible. Extremely hostile and unlikable. I don't spend much (any) time in courtrooms, but have never seen anything like that.

4.) A defendant that has gained 120 pound in 16 months. This is just sad, but adds to the bizzarity ( <- this might a word of my own making...lol) of this saga.
Mission146
Mission146
  • Threads: 142
June 29th, 2013 at 9:01:59 AM permalink
Quote: kewlj

1.) All female jury. Does this seem acceptable to anyone? Is this reflective of that community? I am not a lawyer, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn express last night, but I would think this could be grounds for an appeal for either losing side.

Were the number of males in the jury pool such that either side excluding as many females as they possibly could have would have necessarily resulted in at least one male being on the jury?

That's definitely an oddity, though, I imagine the defense would potentially have grounds to appeal, but they'd have had to preserve it as an appealable issue at the appropriate time by objecting to it. Essentially, you can't appeal something that you didn't argue in the course of the proceedings.

Quote: