RaleighCraps
RaleighCraps
  • Threads: 79
May 30th, 2012 at 9:56:42 AM permalink
Quote: WizardofEngland

Ok, I will take all that on board, but I do think a wrong answer should be worth more points than a common correct one. What do you think??

It really boils down to whether or not research is permitted or encouraged.

A wrong answer supplied because I was trying to be tricky and pick something that no one else would pick, but I messed up, merits an additional penalty.
Having to guess at an answer because I have no knowledge of the subject question should not merit an additional penalty.

As I was reading your game the first time, and then later you confirmed it, I was expecting to do research on the questions I didn't know (MJ - I am not a musical person and Simpsons - never cared to watch it).

But, if everyone was to do a lot of research on each question, I think it would skew the results you might expect to see. Example, using IMDB, I bet I could find a character that was on 3 episodes of the Simpsons that only a die hard fan might even had heard of.

I think I like the game with the no research rule in place. To compensate for that a couple of options:

-- perhaps there could be 12 questions, and a player only needs to answer 10. The player would also pick which 2 questions they think are the most likely to be skipped. As a player, if you know all 12 answers for certain, then you try to answer questions that others may not answer, or do you?

-- figure out a way to allow a player to not answer a question due to no knowledge. In other words, I can choose to guess, but if I am wrong about the topic my score will be heavily whacked, OR, I can choose to Not Answer Due to no Knowledge, and then I would get some lesser score for the question.

I really like your game concept, and I can't wait to see your results. It should be a very interesting discussion.