Thread Rating:

Poll

50 votes (68.49%)
2 votes (2.73%)
5 votes (6.84%)
4 votes (5.47%)
9 votes (12.32%)
2 votes (2.73%)
1 vote (1.36%)

73 members have voted

SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 125
  • Posts: 12195
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
December 19th, 2025 at 1:20:23 PM permalink
Quote: lilredrooster

.
wildest 2 point conversion ever - Seahawks won the game in OT partly due to this

Charbonnet recovered the ball in the end zone casually - he didn't know he had scored

from ESPN:

"After the Seahawks scored a touchdown with 6:23 left in the fourth quarter, they attempted a 2-point try. Jared Verse tipped a Sam Darnold pass attempt that fell to the ground, apparently incomplete, and it was ruled that the conversion failed.

However, as the Seahawks were lined up to kick off, replay review concluded that Darnold had attempted a backward pass and that Seahawks running back Zach Charbonnet recovered the loose ball in the end zone. The call on the field was reversed, tying the score and eventually sending the game to overtime.

"Very interesting," McVay said after the Rams lost 38-37. "Didn't get a clear explanation of everything that went on just because of some of the timing of it.

"I've never seen anything or never been a part of anything like that. And I've grown up around this game. I'm not making excuses. We don't do that. I don't believe in that. It doesn't move us forward, but we do want clarity and an understanding of the things that we can do to minimize that when we rejected the 2-point conversion."


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C4lCi_dC6g


.
link to original post



SOOPOO immediately recognized it as a ‘backward pass’, which I don’t think technically even exists. I believe, once the ball hits the ground it is a ‘fumble’.

However, I thought (maybe erroneously) that 4th down rules were in play, and only the fumbler can recover a ball that went forward after the fumble and have that yardage hold up. To me, the ‘fumbler’, is Sam Darnold, the QB, as until it was recovered in the End Zone no Seahawks had touched the ball.

On those end of game 4th down plays if a different offensive player recovers the ball it is brought back to the spot of the fumble, and since it was 4th down the other team takes over possession.

I haven’t scoured the internet yet to see if anyone else has my take on this.
DRich
DRich
  • Threads: 92
  • Posts: 14282
Joined: Jul 6, 2012
December 19th, 2025 at 3:06:50 PM permalink
Quote: SOOPOO


However, I thought (maybe erroneously) that 4th down rules were in play, and only the fumbler can recover a ball that went forward after the fumble and have that yardage hold up. To me, the ‘fumbler’, is Sam Darnold, the QB, as until it was recovered in the End Zone no Seahawks had touched the ball.



My belief is that after it was touched by a defender it is a live ball, I believe the only offensive player that can advance it is the fumbler assuming it is not touched by a defender.
You can't know everything, but you can know anything.
billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 297
  • Posts: 19888
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
December 20th, 2025 at 6:15:47 AM permalink
Huge win by Bama last night.
Down 17-0 late in the 2nd quarter, they scored 27 straight points to open a ten-point lead As the clock was winding down, Oklahoma's kicker, winner of the Groza award as college's best FG maker, missed a controversial attempt as the ball sailed far above the sticks, but the judge ruled it was just outside. As time was winding down, with the Sooners down by ten, he came up short on another attempt, and the Tide was able to run out the clock.
They now get to take on Indiana in the Rose Bowl on New Year's Day. I don't recall the Crimson Tide ever playing in the Rose Bowl before.
The older I get, the better I recall things that never happened
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 125
  • Posts: 12195
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
December 20th, 2025 at 6:37:59 AM permalink
Quote: DRich

Quote: SOOPOO


However, I thought (maybe erroneously) that 4th down rules were in play, and only the fumbler can recover a ball that went forward after the fumble and have that yardage hold up. To me, the ‘fumbler’, is Sam Darnold, the QB, as until it was recovered in the End Zone no Seahawks had touched the ball.



My belief is that after it was touched by a defender it is a live ball, I believe the only offensive player that can advance it is the fumbler assuming it is not touched by a defender.
link to original post



Nope. Son read the official NFL rule book. Go read the section on ‘fumble during a 2 point try’ and see if you come up with a different conclusion than mine!

The only ambiguity seems to be that they ‘may’ consider a ‘backwards pass’ that is dropped slightly different than a fumble. Which is incongruent. Anyway, I still have a big live parlay as had Rams plus 1.5!
billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 297
  • Posts: 19888
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
December 20th, 2025 at 7:01:57 AM permalink
An uncaught backward pass is not a fumble. It's treated almost the same as a fumble, but it isn't a fumble. A fumble is when a player has possession of the ball, makes a football move, and then loses the ball. I don't think this was a muff, as the intended target never touched the ball.
A fumble, in those conditions, can only be advanced by the fumbler. If the QB was sacked and the ball popped loose, no other Seahawk could advance it. On an incomplete backward pass, anyone can advance it.
What I don't get is the NFL claiming the whistle doesn't end the play. From Pop Warner on, we are taught to go all out until we hear the whistle. The whistle blew, and the side judge was indicating the play was over.
If ever a play deserved a do-over, I think this is it.
Last edited by: billryan on Dec 20, 2025
The older I get, the better I recall things that never happened
  • Jump to: