pnuci1
pnuci1
  • Threads: 1
November 25th, 2018 at 6:12:09 AM permalink
I am trying to find out the method (and the answer) to the following:

What is the probability of getting a 3 card straight and a 3 card straight flush, or a 4 card straight and a 4 card straight flush in a FIVE CARD POKER HAND.
I have some knowledge of probabilities, but this is beyond my current abilities.
Thanks in advance.
charliepatrick
charliepatrick
  • Threads: 39
November 25th, 2018 at 11:55:15 AM permalink
One way is to break the hands down into various types, and then see how many of each are straights and SFs.
For instance think
(i) No pair - five different cards. Some combinations will have
(a) No possible straights (e.g. A K J T 8)
(b) Others will have one (e.g. A K Q T 9)
(c) Others will have two (e.g. A K Q J 9, A K Q 3 2)
(d) Others will have three (e.g. A K Q J T),
(ii) One pair - hence four different cards where one of them is in two suits
(iii) Two pairs - three different cards where two of them are in two suits...
etc.
This might help break it down into manageable chunks.
ThatDonGuy
ThatDonGuy
  • Threads: 117
November 25th, 2018 at 6:43:01 PM permalink
When you say 3-card straight, does this include a hand that has two pair, or three of a kind?
For example, 6s 7h 7c 8s 8d, or Jd Qc Ks Kh Kc?

The hardest part might be trying to count the 3-card straights that aren't also 4-card straights.

Let's use straight flushes as an example, as that's easier to do, since there aren't that many ways to count a hand multiple times.
How many 4-card straight flushes are there?
For each one, how many cards are there that can be the fifth card?
I assume you do not want to count a fifth card that makes a 5-card straight flush.