8 votes (20.51%)

39 members have voted

Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1494
September 30th, 2011 at 2:09:54 PM permalink
Quote: Woldus

The cab driver [sight unseen] is probably younger, but out of shape from sitting in a car all day...

I probably would have got my ass kicked. However, my brother in law got into the fray as well, on my side of course, and the driver backed down. This particular driver was about my age, but was about 30 pounds heavier. Not that I'm a big expert in this, but it is my opinion that weight plays a huge roll in a fist fight. All the heavier fighter has to do is grab onto the lighter fighter, pin him to the ground, and then start throwing punches.
"For with much wisdom comes much sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV)
boymimbo
boymimbo
  • Threads: 17
September 30th, 2011 at 4:21:05 PM permalink
DOT allows overbooking, and they've established the penalties for involuntary bumps, and just recently doubled it to something I think is signficant.
----- You want the truth! You can't handle the truth!
Nutrisweetguy10
Nutrisweetguy10
  • Threads: 2
September 30th, 2011 at 7:28:11 PM permalink
I was in Vegas in July and actually was waiting for Hawaiian to call for volunteers. Had I gotten bumped, I would have been able to stay one more night while my wife was on business there. Had the room, was up about 500 for the trip, and get a voucher. Sound like a win win if they needed to bump someone. The flight was full. No empty seats. I believe they filled the plane with employee standbys. Oh well. Was a good trip.
reno
reno
  • Threads: 124
December 3rd, 2013 at 10:43:01 AM permalink