Thread Rating:

LuckyPhow
LuckyPhow
  • Threads: 55
August 12th, 2017 at 8:53:58 AM permalink
Quote: beachbumbabs

The only way I made it through 2 years on the Big Island was having a full-time job.

Ummm... Which BIG island? Hawaii, I guess. But, many other islands are larger than Hawaii.

Quote: beachbumbabs

Vacation, sure. I give most of you 14 days, tops, and you'll have island fever.

During WW-2 my father was stationed at Oahu island for a period of time (before heading to Iwo Jima). He used to say that Hawaii (referring to the whole state) was as close as anybody could get to Heaven on this planet. If someone lives in a perfect playground -- even a small one -- they might never tire if it.
billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 240
August 12th, 2017 at 9:57:41 AM permalink
As a teenager, I did two cruises to Bermuda and absolutely fell in love with it, so when I was transferred there as a young officer I was thrilled . Two months in, I started to get itchy and after six months couldn't stand it. Meeting some of my college friends at a weeklong conference didn't help. The cost of living in Bermuda was quite high and you couldn't drive a car there until you lived there for a year. One of my friends was stationed in the Pacific and was telling us how he had a live in "maid" for around $30 a month, the other was in Germany and planned on bringing a Volvo back with him when his tour was up.
Any island will get to you after awhile. In your fathers case, the fact that no one was shooting at him there, and that they most certainly would be in the next place had to have been a factor.
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
ams288
ams288
  • Threads: 22
August 12th, 2017 at 12:40:09 PM permalink
Donald Trump is an evil man.

Shame on all of you who voted for him.
Ding Dong the Witch is Dead
terapined
terapined
  • Threads: 89
August 12th, 2017 at 3:16:56 PM permalink
Terrorism in the USA
Can Trump call this terrorism