Thomas
Thomas
  • Threads: 5
August 25th, 2014 at 8:48:15 PM permalink
What if every state raised crops on medians and road sides,
instead of paying mowers to cut the grass that grows there?
Could they possibly save the taxpayer the burden of all that
maintenance, while simultaneously earning enough money
for each state to maintain all the highways in their respective
states? Thus saving the taxpayer that burden also!
Seems like a lot of wasted land and money!
Just a thought.
rudeboyoi
rudeboyoi
  • Threads: 27
August 25th, 2014 at 8:55:29 PM permalink
I like when I see drainage ditches turned into parks. Still functions the same but is now also a park.
AxiomOfChoice
AxiomOfChoice
  • Threads: 32
August 25th, 2014 at 8:59:38 PM permalink
Isn't the government already paying farmers to not grow food on farmland to keep food prices where it wants it? Admittedly I am no expert on farm subsidies but isn't that basically how it works?

In other words, not enough land to grow crops is not a problem that we have.
onenickelmiracle
onenickelmiracle
  • Threads: 212
August 25th, 2014 at 9:36:55 PM permalink
Do they really mow the grass where you live? this has been noticeably done less in ohio. Actually the problem would be the grass itself and not the mowing. I would either consider wild plants not needing maintenance or putting the land to good use, say for growing blueberries or whatever people could eat. Personally I don't even know the purpose for the medians but there should be a few.

I had thought about this before as well and had decided either it was too dangerous, too lengthy a tract, or stepping on toes of farmers, food manufacturers and importers. Maybe it's not feasible to even work or maybe political will doesn't need bothered. Perhaps a politician couldn't make good money with this idea for his time compared to all their other enterprises.
I am a robot.
Eaglesnest
Eaglesnest
  • Threads: 6
August 25th, 2014 at 10:32:49 PM permalink
Quote: AxiomOfChoice