mandrita
mandrita
  • Threads: 3
July 16th, 2016 at 7:33:06 PM permalink
So I was running around on the strip looking for potential games to play. I suddenly see a 25 cent video poker progressive sitting at $3800 (yes, I know it was crazy high!). Now, I'm not a professional video poker player. But it was easy to tell the game was positive ev. So I did what any player would do. I sat there and started grinding out hands. Sat there for four hours averaging about 300 hands an hour. Double checking my strategy making sure I was playing each hand right. When suddenly an old lady sits down next to me and starts playing the machine next to me. Ten minutes later, she hits the Royale. I guess I'm just venting at this point, but what would you guys have done to go after this progressive. Pay people to take seats? Work with other partners and split the profits? I'm just curious how others on this forum would approach this scenario.
Wizardofnothing
Wizardofnothing
  • Threads: 121
July 16th, 2016 at 7:55:44 PM permalink
If you are only able to do 300 hands an hour I would not have sat down: It's irrelevant that she had just sat down- that's just bad luck - even if the game was was 107 percent which might be highA at only 300 hands an hours you were playing with an expected value of roughly 25 an hour - good but certainly not huge
And depending on the pay table it may have been much less
No longer hiring, don’t ask because I won’t hire you either
djatc
djatc
  • Threads: 83
July 16th, 2016 at 8:05:05 PM permalink
I'm guessing this was a 7/5 bonus poker progressive? That's as good as you'll get on the strip for quarters.
"Man Babes" #AxelFabulous
mandrita
mandrita
  • Threads: 3
July 16th, 2016 at 8:11:08 PM permalink
I'm not a professional, I consider myself a small time AP. Any plays that I can get my hands on, I'll take it. Also it was fun for me to be able to play video poker in a real setting, but I understand what you are saying. Unfortunately, I don't value my time. Lol.