NewGamble1
NewGamble1
  • Threads: 1
April 4th, 2013 at 8:57:20 AM permalink
so I'm new to table games and I'm having trouble with seeing pushes. For example, two pair on the board and a queen. Queen higher than either high cards (mine and dealers) . Would that be a push?

Pair on board and three cards higher than both 2 cards dealer and I have. Push?

Also if theres no hands on the board it's just the dealers 2 cards vs mine? Or do you still have to see if ones cards are low enough to where they are playing the board?

Basically I'm always thinking I'm losing or winning when I'm pushing. This is kind of a rough explanation. I'm hoping some veterans will understand where I'm getting confused. Thanks in advanced.
vendman1
vendman1
  • Threads: 9
April 4th, 2013 at 9:41:21 AM permalink
Simple, you make the best 5 card poker hand from among the 5 cards on the board + the two in your hand. The dealer does the same. So if you have say 6,8..(suits irrelevant for this example) and the dealer has 9,J...and the board comes up. A,A,Q,Q,6. You both have two pair; Aces and Queens..but the dealer has a J kicker so he/she wins. The fact that you have a 6 which also pairs the board is not relevant because you can't have a 3 pair poker hand.

So: Your hand is A,A,Q,Q,8
Dealers Hand A,A,Q,Q,J

You would lose the hand. Does that help?
NewGamble1
NewGamble1
April 4th, 2013 at 9:54:06 AM permalink
Yes I see how that scenario worked out but some like the ones I posted are what I'm having trouble with.
MangoJ
MangoJ
  • Threads: 10
April 4th, 2013 at 10:18:16 AM permalink
Quote: NewGamble1

For example, two pair on the board and a queen. Queen higher than either high cards (mine and dealers) . Would that be a push?

So the board is 2,6,2,Q,6 and you have 3,J and the dealer has 7,8.

From the 7 cards (262Q6 and 3J) you form the best poker hand, which is 6622Q (two pairs 6s and 2s, and the Q kicker).
The dealer does the same, from 262Q6 and 78 the best hand is 6622Q.