Thread Rating:

Poll

50 votes (68.49%)
2 votes (2.73%)
5 votes (6.84%)
4 votes (5.47%)
9 votes (12.32%)
2 votes (2.73%)
1 vote (1.36%)

73 members have voted

SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 125
  • Posts: 12194
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
December 19th, 2025 at 1:20:23 PM permalink
Quote: lilredrooster

.
wildest 2 point conversion ever - Seahawks won the game in OT partly due to this

Charbonnet recovered the ball in the end zone casually - he didn't know he had scored

from ESPN:

"After the Seahawks scored a touchdown with 6:23 left in the fourth quarter, they attempted a 2-point try. Jared Verse tipped a Sam Darnold pass attempt that fell to the ground, apparently incomplete, and it was ruled that the conversion failed.

However, as the Seahawks were lined up to kick off, replay review concluded that Darnold had attempted a backward pass and that Seahawks running back Zach Charbonnet recovered the loose ball in the end zone. The call on the field was reversed, tying the score and eventually sending the game to overtime.

"Very interesting," McVay said after the Rams lost 38-37. "Didn't get a clear explanation of everything that went on just because of some of the timing of it.

"I've never seen anything or never been a part of anything like that. And I've grown up around this game. I'm not making excuses. We don't do that. I don't believe in that. It doesn't move us forward, but we do want clarity and an understanding of the things that we can do to minimize that when we rejected the 2-point conversion."


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C4lCi_dC6g


.
link to original post



SOOPOO immediately recognized it as a ‘backward pass’, which I don’t think technically even exists. I believe, once the ball hits the ground it is a ‘fumble’.

However, I thought (maybe erroneously) that 4th down rules were in play, and only the fumbler can recover a ball that went forward after the fumble and have that yardage hold up. To me, the ‘fumbler’, is Sam Darnold, the QB, as until it was recovered in the End Zone no Seahawks had touched the ball.

On those end of game 4th down plays if a different offensive player recovers the ball it is brought back to the spot of the fumble, and since it was 4th down the other team takes over possession.

I haven’t scoured the internet yet to see if anyone else has my take on this.
DRich
DRich
  • Threads: 92
  • Posts: 14282
Joined: Jul 6, 2012
December 19th, 2025 at 3:06:50 PM permalink
Quote: SOOPOO


However, I thought (maybe erroneously) that 4th down rules were in play, and only the fumbler can recover a ball that went forward after the fumble and have that yardage hold up. To me, the ‘fumbler’, is Sam Darnold, the QB, as until it was recovered in the End Zone no Seahawks had touched the ball.



My belief is that after it was touched by a defender it is a live ball, I believe the only offensive player that can advance it is the fumbler assuming it is not touched by a defender.
You can't know everything, but you can know anything.
  • Jump to: