Thread Rating:

bigfoot66
bigfoot66
  • Threads: 53
April 5th, 2013 at 11:43:25 AM permalink
Quote: AlanMendelson

Who or what guarantees my bitcoin account/stash/balance?

Good question. You do!!! Again I am not an expert by any stretch but it is something like this: you open a bitcoin wallet which is formed of two keys, one of which is made public and one of which is private. People can send you bitcoins via your public key but you need the private key to spend them. The two keys are mathematically related but it takes a LOT of computer power to derive one using the other, we are talking billions of years on your home computer. If you puiblish the private key then anyone can spend your bitcoins. If you have it on the same computer that you use to look at really sketchy websites, then theoretically someone might be able to grab it off of your computer. The safest way to do it is to create a "paper wallet" and physically write the information on a piece of paper and then wipe the info from your computer.
Vote for Nobody 2020!
bigfoot66
bigfoot66
April 5th, 2013 at 11:48:22 AM permalink
Quote: pacomartin

You cannot pay taxes with bitcoins. This ability to accept currency for taxes is one of the principal means that a governments give value to their currency.

Some of us believe that this is a major benefit ;).

Quote: pacomartin

The Fed controls money supply using the dual mandate of maximum employment and stable prices . Bitcoins have no such mandate and their value is likely to fluctuate wildly. Or they may become a significant way to "hold value".

We are still at the very early stages of the bitcoin, assuming it is successful. It is gaining a lot of value right now as the demand is skyrocketing, howevery once the demand levels out and the supply remains fixed bitcoins should gain value very slowly at less than 5% annually.
Vote for Nobody 2020!
EvenBob
EvenBob
  • Threads: 425
April 5th, 2013 at 12:53:40 PM permalink