hook3670
hook3670
  • Threads: 38
February 7th, 2013 at 1:19:58 PM permalink
I have been gambling many many years at VP and card games but I am fairly new to craps and really enjoy the game. If there is a slight house edge to playing the game on the players side, would there not be the equal advantage play for betting with the house in craps? If not I would love to know why not.
Ahigh
Ahigh
  • Threads: 90
February 7th, 2013 at 1:22:30 PM permalink
There would be if you won on the 12 on the comeout.

When they don't pay you when the 12 rolls, that is the house advantage.

For almost a zero edge, they could pay the don'ts half their bet and take away half the do bet.

The fact that they take the pass line and don't pay the don't pass line is where the edge "lives" so to speak.
aahigh.com
hook3670
hook3670
  • Threads: 38
February 7th, 2013 at 1:47:04 PM permalink
Thank you. Embarrassingly, the whole time I have been playing, I never realized you do not get paid on the 12 if you bet on the house(granted 99% of the time I have bet on the players side). That explains it. Just out of curiosity, what does that make the HE for Don't players?
sodawater
sodawater
  • Threads: 64
February 7th, 2013 at 1:52:43 PM permalink
House edge for craps:

Pass line, no odds: 1.41%

Don't pass, no odds: 1.40%
Ahigh
Ahigh
February 7th, 2013 at 1:54:11 PM permalink
Quote: sodawater

House edge for craps:

Pass line, no odds: 1.41%

Don't pass, no odds: 1.40%

That's right. There some discussion that if you count a tie as resolved, the don't is 1.36%. Either way, for the same number of rolls, you will last longer on the don't pass line as you get into the millions of rolls because of the push.
aahigh.com
MathExtremist
MathExtremist
  • Threads: 88
February 7th, 2013 at 2:13:39 PM permalink
Quote: Ahigh