JVIPER88
JVIPER88
  • Threads: 4
May 19th, 2012 at 2:04:48 PM permalink
Hey everyone. Thanks for giving me the time. I'm pretty new to blackjack. I've gotten a pretty good handle of BS, and I was looking for a good system to start learning counting. I settled on Snyder's Hi Lo Lite. But There are certain aspects of it that confuse me, and I would appreciate some clarification.

1) If Hi Lo Lite uses a "true edge" rather than a true count, how does this affect how I read the indices? For example, when Snyder's table says, "Stand on a 12 vs. 2 when you have a count of +2", does this mean that the True Count is +2, or is the True Edge +2%? And if the table is using True Count numbers, what is the point of using a "true edge" calculation? How do I know what my 2% advantage in the true edge translates to in a true count?

2) I always thought Basic Strategy was the optimal strategy for an "even" deck, where the edge is no more or less than the original house edge. If that's the case, why does the 16 vs. 10 index say to stand at a count of 0 (which would mean an even deck), but BS tells you to hit?

Any help with these questions would be great. Sorry if this is boring, rookie stuff but trying to understand these indices is throwing me for a bit of a loop.

Thanks!
Switch
Switch
  • Threads: 12
May 19th, 2012 at 3:12:07 PM permalink
The reason that 16 vs 10 is a 'Hit' for Basic Strategy is that it is using a generic decision based on all of your 16's vs 10. The cards that generally form 16 vs 10 give a slightly negative count i.e. 10,6 vs 10, 9,7 vs 10 and although it's true that you could end up with 3,4,4,5 vs 10 (positive count) it doesn't come up as much as the negative or neutral ones.

I'm not sure what the Hi Lo lite is so I can't comment on the 'true' edge' - I use Snyder's Zen count which is a 2-level count. However, +2 would generally signify a +2 'running count' ... I'm guessing that Snyder's true edge count automatically converts to a 'True Count'?