Shicks02
Shicks02
  • Threads: 2
January 22nd, 2016 at 9:48:17 AM permalink
I'm new to this forum so forgive me if this is addressed somewhere else.

I've been playing BJ for a couple years and I'm rock solid on basic strategy. I was wondering if there are other techniques other than counting that would improve my games. I've read on other websites about not hitting the 16v10 if your 16 is made up of 4's and 5's (45 rule) and casually watching shoes for a lot of high cards coming out at once or a lot of low cards coming out at once for you to make a decision to walk away or sit down and play.

Curious if anyone has any comments about those two techniques and if their is any other advice to offer.
odiousgambit
odiousgambit
  • Threads: 326
January 22nd, 2016 at 9:55:25 AM permalink
Quote: Shicks02

I'm new to this forum so forgive me if this is addressed somewhere else.

I've been playing BJ for a couple years and I'm rock solid on basic strategy. I was wondering if there are other techniques other than counting that would improve my games. I've read on other websites about not hitting the 16v10 if your 16 is made up of 4's and 5's (45 rule) and casually watching shoes for a lot of high cards coming out at once or a lot of low cards coming out at once for you to make a decision to walk away or sit down and play.

Curious if anyone has any comments about those two techniques and if their is any other advice to offer.

What you are describing is 'sort of' card counting. I think if you could be observant enough for that, you could do the Wizard's ace-five count and do better. Look that up at his wizard of odds dot com site.
the next time Dame Fortune toys with your heart, your soul and your wallet, raise your glass and praise her thus: “Thanks for nothing, you cold-hearted, evil, damnable, nefarious, low-life, malicious monster from Hell!”   She is, after all, stone deaf. ... Arnold Snyder
Romes
Romes
  • Threads: 29
January 22nd, 2016 at 1:45:59 PM permalink