AZDuffman
AZDuffman
  • Threads: 240
September 30th, 2011 at 4:50:41 PM permalink
As most of you know, I work as an abstractor for gas well titles. What you may not know is that this job can lead to a lot of "counter time" waiting for photocopies to be made and thus a lot of "counter talk" with the guys making the copies. Today I had two such discussions, partly based on neither me nor the guy making the copies really wanted to do much more work after 3:00 on a friday. So anyways, the two questions.

Question 1 revolved around probability of having a deed recorded at "Page 1" vs any other page. Since I assume most people are not very familiar with this, a little on how deed recording works....

Before around 2000, deeds in most places were recorded in "Deed Book." Way back in the 1700s or before, when the USA was first being settled, people knew we had to keep track of who owned land, as they had done in Europe where they left from. Somebody very organized and with good handwriting got appointed or elected "recorder of deeds." Someone sells a property, say Wizard sells a lot to EvanBob. They write a deed and go to the county to show it on record. The "recorder" copied it all, word for word, in his book. When he recorded it he would assign it a "page" number. Say these two made the first deal ever, so it went on "Book 1, Page 1." Years later, EvenBob decides to sell to FleaStiff. So when they write that deed they must "recite" how EB got the property, in most cases this is the form of saying, "being the same property EvenBob acquired from Wizard and recorded at Book 1, Page 1." Then a book and page is assigned for that deed. Most decent-sized counties in the East have from a few thousand to over 15,000 "books" with all these recordings. In the late 1990s many places stopped using physical "books" in favor of computer storage. At the same time, many stopped issuing "book/page" and just gave an individual file or doccument number. So that is the background.