Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1493
January 3rd, 2014 at 9:04:11 PM permalink
I am going to torture all of you with videos from my GoPro camera I got myself for Christmas! You thought the boring trail videos were the end of it -- but no! I'm just getting started.

Earlier today I was at Brian Head skiing and made some videos while skiing. Here is the first one of the Fremont Street route.

The ending illustrates a funny thing about human nature. The way they queue people up for the ski lift is with about six lines. The attendant goes from line to line scanning one or two people, to ensure they have a valid pass, before the skiers may proceed to the lift. Notice how when I got to the bottom at the end everybody was in the first couple lines, and the rest totally empty. So I coasted right up to one of the other ones and then was almost immediately scanned to go up again. When I worked at Knotts Berry Farm I saw this herd mentality of standing in the longest line all the time.
"For with much wisdom comes much sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV)
EvenBob
EvenBob
  • Threads: 441
January 3rd, 2014 at 9:33:07 PM permalink
Good quality on the video, but without sound it might
as well be an 8mm camera. At least there were real
bodies laying to the side of this trail, kudos for that.

How does a day of skiing cost a day at this place, I
bet it's not cheap.
"It's not called gambling if the math is on your side."
Transcend
Transcend
  • Threads: 17
January 3rd, 2014 at 9:53:34 PM permalink
Quote: EvenBob

as well be an 8mm camera. At least there were real
bodies laying to the side of this trail, kudos for that.

bet it's not cheap.

There is sound you just have to turn the volume up but it's not really much worth listening to.

Warren Miller would be proud, especially since you didn't run over that little kid who fell pretty much as you got off the lift.