AZDuffman
AZDuffman
  • Threads: 242
February 4th, 2012 at 1:56:32 PM permalink
Quote: P90

Congratulations on your single-handed environmental footprint of two complete American families, at least in this regard.

Uh, whatever "envrionmental footprint" means, but thanks. It is quite simple, however. Most of our jobs are some distance away-one at a particular resort. And my day job is where it is, I'm not moving because the day job could change. Right now I have a second side-jon in the works that I expect could add even more need to make similar trips in the evening. Such jobs pay far better and have more flexibility than say a c-store clerk. The tradeoff is you need to go where the work it.

It hasn't yet with me, but I did quite a few times when I needed the cargo space.

Quote:

You can't always get everything at once with new technology.

No, but until the new technology does at least the basics at least as well as the old one, it will not be adopted.

Quote:

Before applephone, a typical cell would last about a week of moderate use on one charge, the worst to happen after tossing it across the room is the battery cover would come off, there were plenty of water-resistant models if you wanted more, and some could do a month on one charge.
Now the battery isn't even expected to have anything by the end of the day, you have to check if it isn't smashed after falling off a table, and despite the lack of buttons, there is a grand total of one model with at least splash resistance. Yet next to everyone goes for it.

Not a valid comparrison.