100xOdds
100xOdds
  • Threads: 543
January 13th, 2015 at 10:25:14 AM permalink
Quote: AZDuffman

Even at my age I have moved most of my stock investments (50% of IRA, 100% of short term) into utilities mutual funds. My logic is that they have steady income like a bond but there is some growth as population and energy growth continues. The two I am in have been at 10-20% return the past few years.

Get the heck out of most stocks, the market is being fueled by a printing press. The parallels to 2006/7 right now are scary. My thinking right now is auto loans will start to go bad the next 12 months. That was part of the start of it last time.

if that's the case, then why not healthcare mutual funds.
they've climbed an avg of 30%/yr this decade!
Craps is paradise (Pair of dice). Lets hear it for the SpeedCount Mathletes :)
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1398
January 13th, 2015 at 10:58:04 AM permalink
I recently bought stock in MGM and Wynn. Doesn't mean I am a stock expert, but just like the companies, and they say "invest in what you know."
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.
AcesAndEights
AcesAndEights
  • Threads: 67
January 13th, 2015 at 11:00:09 AM permalink
Quote: RaleighCraps

I am trying to figure out ways to preserve my IRA (401K) accounts given the current markets.
YES, I do know that trying to time the markets is not a recommended play, and many who try it, don't fare as well as they could have otherwise.

Welp you just answered your own question :p

I like OG's acronym - TINA - there is no alternative. Bonds especially are usually the go-to in a big bull market when you're expecting a pullback, but the current conditions with interest rates where they are and where they'll probably go make that unattractive too. Kind of uncharted territory.