Thread Rating:

redietz
redietz
  • Threads: 49
Thanked by
OnceDear
April 6th, 2020 at 8:41:56 AM permalink
I don't know how many of you are MDs or PhDs, but this is the funniest thing I have heard in a long time. One of the president's task force advisors, when asked why his opinion should matter in the COVID-19 medication debate, said, "I'm a social scientist. I know how to read studies and statistics."

Holymotherofgod. What a thing to say!

This is like a baker telling you he should work on your car because he can read Popular Mechanics.

I know a couple of dozen social scientists "with PhDs" as he said, and they are going to be thrilled that they are now infectious disease experts on a par with the infectious disease head for 40 years at NIH. It's a shame my late wife isn't alive, as she had two social science doctorates and would have been in great demand for medical advice.

I'm going to get my compadres some "I'm a social scientist. Ask ME" buttons made up today. I mean, some of my friends have done some real dumbass things during this - like going to group lunches and Disney the day before it closed, so they need to know they all have some expertise that explains things.
"You can't breathe dead hippo waking, sleeping, and eating, and at the same time keep your precarious grip on existence."
rdw4potus
rdw4potus
  • Threads: 80
April 6th, 2020 at 10:01:42 AM permalink
There are plenty of related questions that a social scientist could/should answer. Implications of policy implementation, mechanics of policy implementation, effects of social distancing on various groups, impacts of missed school/half-assed school on various groups, likely impacts of increased activity among "cured" or "immune" people that were not in fact cured in any way. Those answers are important, and are more readily and accurately given by sociologists and political scientists than by MDs. But Navarro sure did cross the line into medicine in that meeting. wow.