Neutrino
Neutrino
  • Threads: 84
April 13th, 2014 at 7:06:58 PM permalink
I studied linguistics a little bit in college and I learned that sometimes a language is missing a concept. That is called a "lexical gap" and it is very difficult/frustrating to deal with.

So who else is sick of using "long term result" in place of EV to the average person? The concept of EV does not exist in average-person-english and just about everybody uses "long term result" in place of it when addressing a non-mathematically educated population.

But the problem is EV and "long term result" does not necessarily mean the same thing... the part of EV that means "average" has no way of showing up, except tends to deviate to the mean in the long run. But that is missing the point, a very key point. EV does not care about the results. It does not care about either the result of your current hand/game/run nor the result of a "long run", a year, 10 years, whatever. It does not care if you bought lottery tickets for 50 years and never hit a jackpot, it only cares you were supposed to lose $0.6 for every $1 you put in.

So analyzing it a bit linguistically, it seems so miserable to me that "long term result" substitutes EV in the average-person-english not because it means the same, because "long term result" TENDS to EV the bigger your sample size gets. so "long term result" is kinda an effect of EV, not EV itself, of sorts...