ktampone
ktampone
  • Threads: 1
June 17th, 2010 at 9:10:32 AM permalink
Hi folks. Just learning the Deuces Wild simple strategy and am slightly confused. Sorry if this is a silly question. In hands where the best play is three or four to a straight flush with consecutive singletons in a given range, does that include any deuces? IE if I have a suited 4,7,8 plus a deuce, would I keep the 4,7,8,deuce as four to a straight flush with consecutive singletons 5-7 or higher or discard the four and keep the 7,8,deuce. To put it a different way, do the consecutive singletons need to be natural?

Like I said, sorry if this is a rookie question, but I'm just learning. Thanks!
teddys
teddys
  • Threads: 150
June 17th, 2010 at 9:49:38 AM permalink
You would keep the deuce plus the three to a straight flush.
"Dice, verily, are armed with goads and driving-hooks, deceiving and tormenting, causing grievous woe." -Rig Veda 10.34.4
odiousgambit
odiousgambit
  • Threads: 326
June 17th, 2010 at 11:50:41 AM permalink
Quote: ktampone

Hi folks. Just learning the Deuces Wild simple strategy and am slightly confused. Sorry if this is a silly question. In hands where the best play is three or four to a straight flush with consecutive singletons in a given range, does that include any deuces? IE if I have a suited 4,7,8 plus a deuce, would I keep the 4,7,8,deuce as four to a straight flush with consecutive singletons 5-7 or higher or discard the four and keep the 7,8,deuce. To put it a different way, do the consecutive singletons need to be natural?

Like I said, sorry if this is a rookie question, but I'm just learning. Thanks!

I believe in these cases he means you always count the deuce, it is perhaps never that you don't take advantage of the deuce so that wording is assumed. I believe I have it right that you never see a recommendation to discard a deuce.

I've found the simple version is less confusing in these matters, if you havent come across it.