JB
Administrator
JB
  • Threads: 334
Thanks for this post from:
smoothgrh
May 31st, 2017 at 3:34:31 PM permalink
Quote: TigerWu

One thing I noticed at a full table is that sometimes the players will want to know where all the Teen and Day tiles are. So, I guess if it's discovered that all of the Teen and Day tiles are in player hands, that might be some useful information some how?? I don't know, that's the kind of math that's way above my head when it comes to tiles.

I studied this several years ago.

It is an advantageous situation to be in when the dealer has no Teen or Day tiles.

The catch is, the advantage comes from the situation itself -- the dealer having only relatively poor tiles in their hand -- not from the strategy you use when you find yourself in that situation.

If you adjust your strategy to optimally take advantage of the situation, the best you can do is only marginally better than just using the regular optimal strategy.

I don't recall exactly what the decrease in house edge was, I think it was 0.03% or less, and there were many bizarre exceptions you had to learn to achieve that. Furthermore, this included 9 different strategies according to how many Teen and how many Day tiles were seen outside of the dealer's hand. Even with all of that, the decrease in house edge was minuscule. I concluded it was not worth pursuing.

Knowing exactly what the dealer's tiles are (and how they would set them), however, is another matter entirely.
ontariodealer
ontariodealer
  • Threads: 6
May 31st, 2017 at 3:43:40 PM permalink
most of my regulars discuss where the teens and days are...but it doesn't help their long term profit because they are gamblers not ap's
get second you pig
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 978
May 31st, 2017 at 5:11:10 PM permalink
Quote: JB

I don't recall exactly what the decrease in house edge was, I think it was 0.03% or less,