dajakesta
dajakesta
  • Threads: 23
October 22nd, 2016 at 8:55:30 PM permalink
Hi guys, as y'all know, I'm pretty new to Ultimate texas holdem and I found a dealer who flashes one of the community cards. Are there any advantage I can gain from this information? It'd be great if you guys can shed some light on this game so I can be a more informed player. :)

EDIT: I just noticed the title got 2 I's in them LOL
Joeshlabotnik
Joeshlabotnik
  • Threads: 20
October 22nd, 2016 at 11:39:58 PM permalink
Quote: dajakesta

Hi guys, as y'all know, I'm pretty new to Ultimate texas holdem and I found a dealer who flashes one of the community cards. Are there any advantage I can gain from this information? It'd be great if you guys can shed some light on this game so I can be a more informed player. :)

EDIT: I just noticed the title got 2 I's in them LOL

If the flashed card gives you a pair, you can raise 3X or 4x (depending on the size of the pair) on a hand you would normally check. For instance, you have J6, you might bet 4X if a Jack flashed and 3X if a 6 flashed. You also might bet 3X if your hand was suited and the flashed card was of that same suit.

Conversely, the flashed card might slow you down. If you had 55 and would normally raise, but a higher card flashed, you might wait to see the entire flop before raising.

I have no idea what the exact strategy would be, but it's obviously valuable to see one card before you make your preflop decision to raise or check. I don't know what that would be worth to the player. Most of the time, the information won't be helpful. The effect would be that you'd gain an extra bet or two every so often by raising 3X/4X on a hand when without seeing the flashed card, you would normally check, then after seeing that you've paired up on the flop, you would raise 2X.
RS
RS
  • Threads: 62
October 22nd, 2016 at 11:52:44 PM permalink
IIRC, one flopped card would yield a relatively small advantage (for HC'ing).
beachbumbabs
beachbumbabs