Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1493
April 22nd, 2012 at 5:25:31 PM permalink
I finally got around to getting the Beyond Counting strategy cards. The one I was primarily interested in was for Ultimate Texas Hold Em. That is a very difficult game to create a strategy for that is both short, understandable, and powerful.

I'm quite sure that our own JB was the first to publish a strategy for the whole game. However, we were later outdone by the shorter and more powerful strategy at Discount Gambling. The DG strategy is short and claims a house edge of 2.3%. Compare that to the 2.185% of optimal. On the downside, I've always found it very cryptic and difficult to commit to memory.

Then James Grosjean, author of Beyond Counting, created a strategy card for the game. Last Friday I finally went down the LVA offices to get a copy. As an HP author, I'm entitled to one set for free.

I must say, I'm very impressed. The Beyond Counting strategy boils down the post-flop strategy to four bullet points, and after the river to five. Granted, these bullet points are still rather heavy, but more intuitive and easy to grasp than the Discount Gambling strategy. The house edge is about the same as that for the Discount Gambling strategy at 2.29%.

If you're not an HP author, the cost is $5.95. I believe shipping is free. Here is a link to order one.

I'd be proud to have a similar strategy on my site, but we're not going to do any better than the Grosjean strategy, so concede that we were outdone this time. If you play the game, the strategy card is a bargain at six bucks.
"For with much wisdom comes much sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV)
odiousgambit
odiousgambit
  • Threads: 326
April 22nd, 2012 at 5:30:04 PM permalink
Quote: Wizard

The DG strategy ...I've always found it very cryptic and difficult to commit to memory.

the jargon is heavy, unnecessary and off-putting

thanks for the tip