PerpetualNewbie
PerpetualNewbie
Joined: Nov 30, 2009
  • Threads: 3
  • Posts: 88
July 26th, 2011 at 1:03:54 PM permalink
Isn't that life? We all play by our own rules, as we see fit, don't we?
kp
kp
Joined: Feb 28, 2011
  • Threads: 7
  • Posts: 422
July 26th, 2011 at 1:07:49 PM permalink
Quote: Paigowdan

We routinely reset fouled Pai Gow hands for the push/tie - instead of declaring a player's loss.



Don't you mean push/tie or win?
PerpetualNewbie
PerpetualNewbie
Joined: Nov 30, 2009
  • Threads: 3
  • Posts: 88
July 26th, 2011 at 1:27:46 PM permalink
You typically get an explanation of what you did, an explanation of what you should have done, a reinforcement of the rule that the 2 cards have to be less of a poker hand than the 5 cards and the following: "According to the rules of the game this is an automatic lose. But this one time we'll call it a push, OK?"

So, it goes something like this: "See this pair (points to 2-card hand)? This is a better poker hand than A-high. (points to 5-card hand). Here's what you should have done (re-sets hand to be the pair in the back and A-whatever in front). You can set your cards however you want, but those 5 cards have to be a better poker hand than these 2 cards. According to the rules of the game this is an automatic lose. But this one time we'll call it a push, OK?

I have never seen a casino pay off a truly fouled hand as a win, even if it clearly would have resulted in such. Note, this never happens in the case I referenced above where you find a legitimate, but truly stupid, setting. At that point, you get a shrug and a "pay attention to your cards" lecture as they play your hand as-is.
PerpetualNewbie
PerpetualNewbie
Joined: Nov 30, 2009
  • Threads: 3
  • Posts: 88
July 26th, 2011 at 1:33:50 PM permalink
Double-post. Oops.
Paigowdan
Paigowdan
Joined: Apr 28, 2010
  • Threads: 115
  • Posts: 5692
July 26th, 2011 at 1:37:06 PM permalink
Quote: PerpetualNewbie

Isn't that life? We all play by our own rules, as we see fit, don't we?


No....too many damn cops around.

Sometimes it gets to the point where we actually police ourselves....

It used to be..."What if somebody were looking at me when I think no one else is looking" [- usually while I am trying to pull something off...]

In my middle age becoming a dice dealer, it became, "Damn, I see other people trying to pull off sh]t!..."

Now in my old age, it's "Damn!...I am afraid of "seeing ME...seeing Me...trying to do something" - if that makes sense.

You know, just the other day a player ( a 40-something woman, - only one on my table - who still looks REALLY good) said to me, "Ya know, Dan - what time do you get off work?? :)))))))

So I said, "You know....Unfortunately I'm MARRIED....." (and BOY did I mean it!"The Unfortunaltely part")

So SHE said, "You know, Dan, I didn't ASK if you were married....I asked what time can you get off work...you know Dan..."

It has gotten to the point where I say to myself, "If you do what you KNOW is right, - you'll always end up feeling right, even if you don't believe it then."
Beware of all enterprises that require new clothes - Henry David Thoreau. Like Dealers' uniforms - Dan.
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
  • Threads: 111
  • Posts: 7983
July 26th, 2011 at 1:48:45 PM permalink
Quote: Nareed



Let me cite a concrete example. One time at Excalibur the PGP dealer had a flush, but set his hands with a high card on both, breaking up the 5 card flush to do so. I noticed it, as did at elast another player. I said nothing for two reasons 1) I'd have won that hand with that dealer set and 2) I wasn't sure he wasn't following some weird house way rule setting his cards like that.



As the Wiz often says, I am calling BULLSHIT on that last statement. "I wasn't sure he wasn't following some weird house way rule"? Really? Splitting up a flush to have TWO hands neither with a pair? You've been caught in a falsehood, Nareed? Let's see if you are person enough to admit it... You didn't say anything because you dont have to, and you WON.
Alan
Alan
Joined: Jun 14, 2011
  • Threads: 17
  • Posts: 582
July 26th, 2011 at 1:55:07 PM permalink
Quote: Paigowdan


You know, just the other day a player ( a 40-something woman, - only one on my table - who still looks REALLY good) said to me, "Ya know, Dan - what time do you get off work?? :)))))))

So I said, "You know....Unfortunately I'm MARRIED....." (and BOY did I mean it!"The Unfortunaltely part")

So SHE said, "You know, Dan, I didn't ASK if you were married....I asked what time can you get off work...you know Dan..."

It has gotten to the point where I say to myself, "If you do what you KNOW is right, - you'll always end up feeling right, even if you don't believe it then."



Funny how ones conscience can overcome ones urges. I can see myself in this situation saying "self, you know you want to get off in that....but you know how bad you'd feel(conscience-wise, not physically-wise) afterwards- like shit I wish I wouldn't have done that now"-that's called regret!
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
  • Threads: 111
  • Posts: 7983
July 26th, 2011 at 1:55:36 PM permalink
Quote: Nareed


I'll admit that most people would return a penny to a sales clerk, but not a $100 given in error by a bank.



I think you are wrong. I know a teller error will be found out at the end of the day during the teller's reconcilliation process. I absolutely will inform the teller of the error upon my finding it out and return the extra $100. I saw a fast food cashier fired over a smaller error 33 years ago ($20).
kp
kp
Joined: Feb 28, 2011
  • Threads: 7
  • Posts: 422
July 26th, 2011 at 1:57:22 PM permalink
Quote: PerpetualNewbie

I have never seen a casino pay off a truly fouled hand as a win, even if it clearly would have resulted in such.



You need to play at Dan's casino. Apparently, from what Dan has been saying, they will pay you for a win on any hand that could have been set to win, regardless how you set it, or if you fouled it.
rdw4potus
rdw4potus
Joined: Mar 11, 2010
  • Threads: 80
  • Posts: 7236
July 26th, 2011 at 2:08:53 PM permalink
Quote: kp

You need to play at Dan's casino. Apparently, from what Dan has been saying, they will pay you for a win on any hand that could have been set to win, regardless how you set it, or if you fouled it.



That's a distinction that's missing from this discussion, I think. It's pretty common for a player's hand to be un-fouled (at least once), and allowed to push/win as it would have if the error hadn't occurred. It's easy to pick the wrong cards in the up-hand, and I'd imagine we've all done it. Hell, I did it this weekend (AA33xxx, accidentally put AA up & the house un-fouled me).

But I've never ever, not even once anywhere, seen a player's non-fouled hand be changed after the dealer's hand was set. That'd just be silly. And those situations happen allllll the time. "Oh, you have a straight with a 54 top? Let me just keep my full house together..." or "hmmm...you have 44xxx/AK? Let me just make this hand be 55AQx/22..."
"So as the clock ticked and the day passed, opportunity met preparation, and luck happened." - Maurice Clarett

  • Jump to: