Sonny44
Sonny44
  • Threads: 13
September 20th, 2014 at 9:28:16 AM permalink
By "mechanics," I mean what happens between the user, the software, servers, etc., when I start an online game. Say, several players start a game at the same time. Do they each get the same seed? Then, after the game starts, what determines the rolls? Say, there are thousands playing a game, not necessarily starting at the same time. How does the RNG handle that?

I suppose the RNG generates numbers by the millisecond. Maybe, since numbers are generated by the millisecond, the roll is determined when I hit the "Roll" button. So, there is no seed.

I also suppose the RNG runs on a server that runs 24/7.

I'm not a coder. All I'd like to know is when I start the Wiz's game, what is going on behind the scenes when it comes to the RNG, in ordinary, plain language, if that's possible. The "mechanics," IOW.
boymimbo
boymimbo
  • Threads: 17
September 20th, 2014 at 9:52:36 AM permalink
While I am not a coder either, I imagine that some sort of randomizer is going into his game, the complexity of which is only known to the person(s) that programmed the thing, which are likely high ranking members of this forum.
----- You want the truth! You can't handle the truth!
MangoJ
MangoJ
  • Threads: 10
September 20th, 2014 at 10:10:25 AM permalink
I would guess the seed is set "once" (i.e. at boot time), and then letting run as random numbers are requested from the RNG. Re-seeding RNGs is most often not a good strategy, as it limits entropy of the RNG.

Of course you would choose a RNG with a very large period (larger than you could store), making it difficult to predict next numbers even if you know previous numbers.
Dieter
Administrator
Dieter
  • Threads: 16
September 20th, 2014 at 10:24:00 AM permalink
Quote: MangoJ