Jack2022
Jack2022
  • Threads: 1
December 31st, 2021 at 10:04:28 AM permalink
HI. I'm new to Blackjack but I've now played over 1000 hands, with tiny stakes as an experiment, using perfect basic strategy expecting a return of around 99.5% but in reality achieving only 85%. I realize this is a small sample size but I'm wondering if there's something about the game I don't understand?
I've only played live online, RNG online, on a couple of apps and on the Wizard's trainer. All have seen disappointing results and a similar pattern where I fall behind, occasionally swing back towards break even, but generally hover around a 10%+ loss.
What are other people's experiences playing basic strategy? Have you achieved the expected return and over what sample size? Thanks.
billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 216
Thanks for this post from:
Jack2022
December 31st, 2021 at 10:12:00 AM permalink
Are you playing in a way that the machine corrects your errors? If not, I'd suspect you are making mistakes you aren't aware of.
A thousand hands is not enough to get a good sampling, in any event.
If you are questioning if BS really works, it does but very few beginners can play BJ perfectly.
You have to play on sites that correct you, or you'll just keep making the same mistakes over and over.
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
ChumpChange
ChumpChange
  • Threads: 64
Jack2022
December 31st, 2021 at 10:19:09 AM permalink
If just 1,000 hands were played and you bet $10 per hand (flat bet), your total bet would be $10,000 and you'd wind up with $8,500 or a $1,500 loss. Would that be 425 wins and 575 losses? Yes, losing streaks happen! But you might expect to lose $50 instead of $1,500 due to the HA.
kewlj
kewlj
Jack2022
December 31st, 2021 at 10:35:31 AM permalink