Thread Rating:

Jvan
Jvan
  • Threads: 1
October 14th, 2011 at 8:45:32 PM permalink
Ok I know that the Iron cross system does not pan out. My question is, how do my odds change if I also put down a come bet? I am slightly leveraged if a seven drops and if any other number hits I can take odds on it (except 2,3,12) but then my field bet pays off double 66% of the time on those incidents.

If the 5,6, or 8 hit, I can pull my place bets and take odds on the come bet, limiting my exposure and maximizing pays.

I am still somewhat new to craps but I was thinking this style might limit some of the downfalls to playing the Iron Cross style.

Thoughts, comments, advice would be greatly appreciated.
Draw a line in the sand, then roll the dice
Scotty71
Scotty71
  • Threads: 19
October 14th, 2011 at 9:14:19 PM permalink
I dont know how your odds change. If I use the Iron cross I am usually betting bigger and only looking for one hit and then maybe I'll take the win proceeds to go up on the 6 & 8. It can get risky. I personally have never just stayed up that way for long, as you are risking the same 7 every time and the 5,6,8 are losing your field play while getting only even $ on the 4,9,10 & 11.

The come bet is a contract bet so what you get with hedging against the seven you could lose on the next roll with a seven or water down your field bet. I would avoid the come bet and just use it as hit and run. Do you normally play at 5, 10 or $15 tables?
when man determined to destroy himself he picked the was of shall and finding only why smashed it into because." — E.E. Cummings
Jvan
Jvan
  • Threads: 1
October 14th, 2011 at 10:17:53 PM permalink
I usually play $5-$10 tables and just increase if I am winning. I know some people use the iron cross method only when the come out roll is 5,6, or 8 (mainly the 5). The idea in that situation is that you only have to place two #'s and have odds on the point(hopefully 5, but maybe 6,or 8).