bbvk05
bbvk05
  • Threads: 7
February 20th, 2012 at 12:52:27 PM permalink
Quote: klimate10

First of all...a declaratory judgment would do not any good here. Im not a Nevada lawyer, but based on what I know about most states and federal law, a declaratory judgment would probably be inapplicable here.

Secondly, there most definitely is reasonable suspicion. There may or may not be probable cause, but reasonable suspicion is most definitely arguable. The office must only justify something like this..."I, Mr. cop saw an empty holster, and guns usually are carried in holsters, therefore since there was no gun in the holster, I wanted to detain and search to make sure that the gun, that a person can assume goes with a holster, is not hidden on the person, and concealing a firearm on person is unlawful". I'm not saying that this logic is correct or incorrect. I'm saying that something like the above argument is all that is needed for reasonable suspicion, as reasonable suspicion is a very low standard.

Do not confuse reasonable suspicion with probable cause. The two are entirely judicially made up legal concepts, and are not defined by the common understanding of the English language. It is VERY hard to not have reasonable suspicion. There are a group of case law that states what can not be reasonable suspicion (ex. you can't use race, you can't use status, an example of a status that does not constitute reasonable suspicion would be, "I know that she is a known prostitute because she's been arrested before on prostitution, so I, Mr. Cop, am going to search her because she is standing on the corner". Now, if you add in the fact that she is dressed like a prostitute, that would probably be reasonable suspicion, and if you add the fact that she is talking to cars and drivers, as they stop, that's probable cause). Almost anything outside of those cases is reasonable suspicion.