avargov
avargov
  • Threads: 16
January 19th, 2011 at 4:18:20 PM permalink
I know this could be a sore subject, but I am looking into buying a IPad. Rest assured it is not from a Vegas carwash employee ;-).

I have a couple of questions that I can't find the answer.

1. Does it come, out of the box, with an app to manipulate Word, Excel, and Access files? I would rather not pay extra for this functionality.

2. Is the GPS and mapping independent of Wi-Fi service? Most of you know I drive for a living and most of the US is not a hotspot.

Thanks in advance for any info

Edited to reflect that I am in the market for an Ipad..
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounded by assholes." ~ William Gibson
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1491
January 19th, 2011 at 4:38:19 PM permalink
1. No. I don't even know if they have apps for that.
2. The GPS and Internet are via cell phone towers, so you get coverage almost everywhere. I think you need the "G3" wireless for that feature.
"For with much wisdom comes much sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV)
P90
P90
  • Threads: 12
January 19th, 2011 at 4:59:17 PM permalink
They actually have proper GPS, so cell phone towers are not necessary, but it's still only available in the 3G model.

There is a third party app for working with Word and Excel files, though: http://www.quickoffice.com/quickoffice_connect_suite_ipad/

But you'll have to forget about Access, it's not going to work in any way. If you need that functionality, and generally serious work with MS office documents, it's better to get a Windows tablet.
Resist ANFO Boston PRISM Stormfront IRA Freedom CIA Obama
thecesspit
thecesspit
  • Threads: 53
January 19th, 2011 at 4:59:24 PM permalink
Quote: Wizard

1. No. I don't even know if they have apps for that.