Thread Rating:

AZDuffman
AZDuffman
  • Threads: 235
February 20th, 2022 at 3:11:40 PM permalink
Quote: SOOPOO

Quote: AZDuffman

Quote: billryan

I own shares in several private companies. I'm not sure you can be a corporation without having outstanding shares. I do think it is a bit unusual for a private company to announce a split like this, but I have limited experience on these.

edit:- I believe a non-profit corporation does not need to issue shares, but any for profit corporation does.
link to original post

Private companies have shared but there is no liquid price. And there is a limit to how many shareholders in most cases.
link to original post

Important point about the liquidity. I’m invested (small amounts) in a bunch. They list a NAV but admit it is not a guarantee if I actually want to sell the shares.
link to original post

I interviewed with some brokerage out of college who had a stock purchase plan but they were private somehow but would buy from you on demand. Which made it a glorified partnership of sorts. But they set the price, a true dark market.
All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 118
February 25th, 2022 at 4:57:38 PM permalink
After the two up days following the big down day now at +127%. From ATH of + 149%. So that’s a 9% hit. I think that counts as a ‘correction’?
Like everyone else I’m worried about Russia/Ukraine, US inflation, …. but I’m still not willing to sit in cash. I do need some % return to live on…..
AZDuffman
AZDuffman
February 26th, 2022 at 4:10:45 AM permalink

After the two up days following the big down day now at +127%. From ATH of + 149%. So that’s a 9% hit. I think that counts as a ‘correction’?
Like everyone else I’m worried about Russia/Ukraine, US inflation, …. but I’m still not willing to sit in cash. I do need some % return to live on…..
link to original post