kinghuman
kinghuman
  • Threads: 1
December 23rd, 2010 at 1:55:05 PM permalink
Hey guys!

I'm a total noob here and I would appreciate any help I could get with a question I have...

What are the actual odds of getting the exact same cards (not suited & suited) on the bank as the player
in baccarat. Also, same question for 3 card poker. What are the actual odds of getting the exact
same 3 cards as the dealer hand?

The answer to this question will settle a huge bet between me and my buddy.

Thanx & maximum respect

kh
MathExtremist
MathExtremist
  • Threads: 88
December 23rd, 2010 at 2:10:02 PM permalink
A cynic might say the probability of the exact same cards being dealt to the player and banker in baccarat are zero, because once they're in the player's hand they can't be dealt to the dealer. Which side of this bet are you on, and how huge is it?

The actual probability you're looking for (identical hands, like 7c 2h in both player/banker) will depend on the number of decks in baccarat, and that's not a trivial calculation due to the strategy element -- when you take 2 vs. 3 cards.

3CP is dealt from a single deck, and that means only one of each specific card, so it's impossible to have two identical hands in 3CP. No cynicism required there.
"In my own case, when it seemed to me after a long illness that death was close at hand, I found no little solace in playing constantly at dice." -- Girolamo Cardano, 1563
kinghuman
kinghuman
December 23rd, 2010 at 4:42:59 PM permalink
Quote: MathExtremist

A cynic might say the probability of the exact same cards being dealt to the player and banker in baccarat are zero, because once they're in the player's hand they can't be dealt to the dealer. Which side of this bet are you on, and how huge is it?