darkoz
darkoz
  • Threads: 297
April 29th, 2016 at 4:05:04 PM permalink
Gandler noted there was one being installed at the Tropicana. Resorts AC had theirs installed Weds. I played it on Thursday, first day of play. Executives were hovering around watching. Here is my review.

First pics. If someone can figure out how to do the damn image posting and post it on here that would be great. For now, I will link to pics I took uploaded on photobucket.

Here is a wide view of the game right after the horses have bolted. http://s69.photobucket.com/user/jeukersz/media/royal%20derby%201.png.html?filters[user]=19959590&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=1

And a close-up http://s69.photobucket.com/user/jeukersz/media/royal%20derby%202.png.html?filters[user]=19959590&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0

The game simulates a horse race even to changing odds, touts, lines, whatever you call them (please note I am a total noob when it comes to horse-racing.)

The math break-down of the odds will be difficult I believe because of that. I am sure every game is simply an RNG at the time of kick-off, the winners predetermined, an independent event, but the odds of the horses are based on previous outcomes. At least, that is my analysis from watching the odds keep changing. Obviously it is trying to replicate the excitement of picking horses based on performance even it is a simulated performance.

Maybe there is a way to AP this as it is somewhat based on previous games but I assume their is some heavy negative expectation built in somewhere.

Watching the horses go around is fun but the game is so fast that I don't believe it fully emulates the excitement at the track.

The betting is more crowded than a Craps table. Here is an image http://s69.photobucket.com/user/jeukersz/media/derby%20panel.png.html?filters[user]=19959590&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=2

My play: