Thread Rating:

GenoDRPh
GenoDRPh 
  • Threads: 4
Thanks for this post from:
TigerWu
September 20th, 2022 at 5:02:43 PM permalink
Quote: EvenBob

Those canvas sneakers we're the most uncomfortable shoes I ever wore in my life because the canvas stretched and they never fit right. And they were heavy. And they were cheaply made, I hated them. People don't realize in the fifties and sixties all these modern shoes didn't exist. You either wore canvas sneakers or leather shoes there's nothing in between. And we had a dress code in high school you couldn't wear these shoes to school. Boys had to wear shirt with a collar and slacks no blue jeans. And girls had to wear a dress or a skirt. The year after I graduated they dropped the dress code and things went downhill fast as far as discipline went. When I was in school if your hair touched the top of your ears you got sent home. If you disrupted your classroom in any fashion you got kicked out of school for three days. I have an old friend who taught High School in the 1960s through 2005 and he said everything went to hell in the late 70s and never got better. Kids could get away with bloody murder in the classroom and there was nothing you could do about it.
link to original post

Willing to bet you yell, "Hey kids, get off my lawn!" too...
tuttigym
tuttigym
  • Threads: 10
September 21st, 2022 at 7:51:25 AM permalink

In the sixties I don't remember seeing a single piece of clothing that had the maker of the clothing displayed on it. No Calvin Klein jeans, no Jordache t-shirts. Not even any shirts that had any kind of writing on them they didn't come later until the 70s.
link to original post

I grew up in the 40's and 50's and remember that all Levi blue jeans had their name on a leather tag on the belt loop area.

tuttigym
TigerWu
TigerWu
  • Threads: 24
September 21st, 2022 at 7:55:10 AM permalink
Quote: GenoDRPh