dwight56
dwight56
  • Threads: 12
December 4th, 2017 at 9:48:05 AM permalink
I would like a little input on this please. I use hi-lo and my spread has been on a 5 dollar table 5 dollars at +1 or less ,+2tc-20 +3-40, +4-60 +5-80 and have had decent success then the last two trips I started playing one hand of 5 at +1 or under +2tc -20 + 3 two hands of 30, =4 two hands of 40 + 5 two hands of 50. which I don't think performed quit as good. My question is which is the best in the long run, rules are h17 sp to 4 hands including aces, das, no sur, 6 and 8 deck with exceptional pen.
Romes
Romes
  • Threads: 29
Thanked by
dwight56
December 4th, 2017 at 10:00:21 AM permalink
Sounds like you have a shop with 'okay' rules (RSA) and great pen, but even more importantly little or no heat; $5-$80 is a nice 1-16 spread. If you have simulation software, that'll give you the best answer to your question - and more... You'll be able to see what that does to your score, variance/SD's, etc.

1 hand of $60 or 2 hands of $30 aren't 'exactly' the same according to Wong's professional blackjack (we had a discussion about this like a year or two ago). I recall reading, and citing, that wong said 2 hands is 150% of 1 hand (as an average bet). Thus, if you bet 2 hands of $30, it's the same as betting 1 hand of $40. So if you wanted to bet 1 hand of $60, you'd need 2 hands of $40. Again, simulation software will let you play with this the most and understand exactly what multiple hands will do for your game.

In 'general' 2 hands is better... however 2 hands (or spreading 'horizontally') often attracts more attention. Some shops will let you spread $5-$100 on 1 hand, but will flip their lid if you spread to 2 hands of $50. So perhaps your answer will be more location/heat dependent than we could provide. If heat will allow it, I'd recommend going to 2 hands... keeping in mind what you want your average bet for each TC to be, etc.
Playing it correctly means you've already won.
dwight56
dwight56