CoachO
CoachO
  • Threads: 1
June 11th, 2015 at 1:18:16 PM permalink
I'm new to counting, I was flat betted for the first time ever at El Cortez this weekend. I was being pretty aggressive with my bets playing $5 mins. Even with being aggressive I was surprised that I got flat betted with the low amounts I was betting. I only bet $150 twice majority was $30-$75 with a pos TC. Anyways I was so surprised I actually laughed in the PB face when he said I was flat betted. I just immediately left and cashed out my chips. Just wanted to share about El Cortez since they seem to be a little picky about their players.
Gabes22
Gabes22
  • Threads: 15
June 11th, 2015 at 1:22:44 PM permalink
Thanks for the info. The El Co is a well known sweat shop around here.
A flute with no holes is not a flute, a donut with no holes is a danish
MathExtremist
MathExtremist
  • Threads: 88
June 11th, 2015 at 1:24:16 PM permalink
Isn't that a badge of honor for card counters or something?

Are they actually counting or just watching the bet swings? Someone should go there and play an opposite counting system at a -3% edge or so for an hour, just to see if they'd back that off too.
"In my own case, when it seemed to me after a long illness that death was close at hand, I found no little solace in playing constantly at dice." -- Girolamo Cardano, 1563
kewlj
kewlj
  • Threads: 200
June 11th, 2015 at 1:28:20 PM permalink
First, I have never heard of EC flat betting anyone. Usually the just back you off (no more BJ). I am not saying it didn't happen. Could be a new tactic.

Secondly, EC's nickname is the Sweaty Spaniard. Wanna guess how they got that nickname? LOL. Spreading $5-$150 or even $5-$75 on single or double deck games (that's all they have) at the ultra sweaty low limit joint is pretty aggressive. No surprise thy wouldn't take that for long. Even if you weren't counting and spread to those limits, they would probably take action against you....that's how sweaty they are.
1BB
1BB