kane
kane
  • Threads: 1
January 8th, 2018 at 6:34:43 PM permalink
Happy New Year! I'm a math enthusiast and I stumbled on your site when I started studying baccarat recently (thanks for the great site!).

I have a question: in your tables at /games/baccarat/basics/ you show that there are 4,998,398,275,503,360 possible combinations for a 8 deck game. I noticed that this equals P(416,6) = 416!/410!.

This seems imply that both the Player and Banker each get 3 cards every time, ignoring the 3rd card draw rules. With the 3rd card draw rules, there should be far fewer possibilities, right? Can you please help me understand what I'm missing? Thank you!
miplet
miplet
  • Threads: 5
Thanked by
kane
January 8th, 2018 at 7:04:20 PM permalink
Quote: kane

Happy New Year! I'm a math enthusiast and I stumbled on your site when I started studying baccarat recently (thanks for the great site!).

I have a question: in your tables at /games/baccarat/basics/ you show that there are 4,998,398,275,503,360 possible combinations for a 8 deck game. I noticed that this equals P(416,6) = 416!/410!.

This seems imply that both the Player and Banker each get 3 cards every time, ignoring the 3rd card draw rules. With the 3rd card draw rules, there should be far fewer possibilities, right? Can you please help me understand what I'm missing? Thank you!

It’s so the combinations are weighted properly.
“Man Babes” #AxelFabulous
kane
kane
January 8th, 2018 at 7:19:49 PM permalink
Thanks for the reply. So those permutations include weights of zero?

If there are weights of zero, then the probability of an outcome should not equal the number of combinations for that outcome divided by the total combinations, right?
charliepatrick
charliepatrick
  • Threads: 39
Thanked by
kane
January 9th, 2018 at 1:57:42 AM permalink
Some games require six cards, where both the Player and Dealer draw a third card.
Some games only require five cards, where only one party draws a third card.