Thread Rating:

mrjjj
mrjjj
  • Threads: 75
January 22nd, 2012 at 1:11:37 PM permalink
If this was brought up already, I do apologize. I keep hearing this argument on tv, over and over again. Some will say social security is considered an entitlement. I say no way, just my opinion. Your view?

Ken
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 122
January 22nd, 2012 at 2:11:00 PM permalink
Most Americans think so. I look at it as a return on an investment. I have been putting in the max for 20+ years, and expect to get the max when I retire. However, due to my lack of faith in the ponzi scheme which is Social Security, I never count on Social Security when doing retirement planning.
weaselman
weaselman
  • Threads: 20
January 22nd, 2012 at 2:11:36 PM permalink
Social security is not an entitlement. Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is. People, often confuse the two.
"When two people always agree one of them is unnecessary"
SanchoPanza
SanchoPanza
  • Threads: 34
January 22nd, 2012 at 2:13:51 PM permalink
Quote: mrjjj

Some will say social security is considered an entitlement. I say no way, just my opinion.

The only way I can see it as "an entitlement" is to view the monster program as the Ponzi scheme that it is. Other than that, I and my employers have paid in the max for decades and I know I could have done a hell of a lot better handling those funds on my own.
NicksGamingStuff
NicksGamingStuff
  • Threads: 50
January 22nd, 2012 at 2:37:57 PM permalink
Im upset with the fact that I have put so many thousands of dollars of my paycheck into something that will be gone before I can use it. I would like the option of being able to transfer my payments into a savings account and just use that. I think the program works by having younger people pay for the older peoples checks, but since people are living longer there will not be enough money when the people who put money into the program need it.
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1493
January 22nd, 2012 at 3:16:43 PM permalink