Thread Rating:

DRich
DRich
  • Threads: 79
October 26th, 2021 at 8:49:03 AM permalink
Quote: TumblingBones

Quote: MDawg

SooPoo, by the way, I assume you held your 5 shares of COIN all the way back to a profit? which just goes to show what I have said all along. Hold a quality stock long enough, it will come back into the green. There is no reason to ever book a loss.
link to original post

The devil is in the details. The trick is to know when a quality stock is no longer a quality stock. Back in the late 70s my folks gave me $17k worth of Eastman Kodak stock when I graduated from college. Being young, naive, and more focused on other stuff (e.g., sex, drugs, & rock-n-roll) I ignored it for years. Eventually it became pretty close to worthless. I eventually sold it for ~ $1k. On the other hand, if I had sold it in 1980 and invested the proceeds in one of the "new" quality stocks of that era (e.g., Intel, CISCO) and held it till now I would have somewhere between $4M and $10M today.
Ah well.... could have, should have, but didn't.
link to original post

I hear you, my Kmart/Sears stock is not quite what it used to be.
Order from chaos
MDawg
MDawg
  • Threads: 31
October 26th, 2021 at 9:02:05 AM permalink
It is hard to know when the paradigm might shift.

Conventional thinking (Tucker, DeLorean) would be that a non Big Three American auto manufacturer will never make it.

But sometimes the paradigm shifts and the old school sticks around to still book profits. Such as with the advent of Japanese quartz watches, and the ability of Rolex, Patek, Breguet, etc. to stay afloat. Of course - Swatch bought Breguet in 1999, among other Swiss fine timepiece makers.
I tell you itís wonderful to be here, man. I donít give a damn who wins or loses. Itís just wonderful to be here with you people. https://wizardofvegas.com/forum/gambling/betting-systems/33908-the-adventures-of-mdawg/
MDawg
MDawg
October 26th, 2021 at 12:16:36 PM permalink