Thread Rating:

clamchowder
clamchowder
  • Threads: 1
July 1st, 2011 at 10:42:14 PM permalink
Evenbob, you seem like a strange fellow. I just read this thread in its entirety. At first, you were talking about surprising the plaintiff by just showing up in court and talking your way through it, as if this were a small claims hearing. You've said that this isn't worth your time, but you also say that you are researching an hour a day. That research has apparently progressed to the point where you have what you believe to be a perfect answer that, in conjunction with your day at trial, will have the case dismissed.

This is a junk debt buyer and assuming you don't owe the debt (and frankly, even if you do), I wish you the best in your efforts. But your motivations in posting seem odd to me. People have given you advice, some good, some bad. And you seem to dismiss all of it in favor of your own research, which leads to the question why you would post on a forum.

I am not a lawyer and I am not particular familiar with Michigan collections law. I hesitate to give advice here because, well, that is what lawyers do.

Answer the complaint in the way that the law says you need to, not in the way the court clerks say. This includes serving the answer (to the plaintiff's attorney) and filing the answer (with the court). If you fail, "court clerk advice" is not a defense, especially if it was over the phone. You may find that personal service to the attorney's office is the best way. Print two copies and have the receptionist date-stamp both copies. You take one, they take one. Then you have proof that they received it. This assumes that this is acceptable in Michigan for serving an answer.

If you do not answer properly, they will likely file for a default judgement, and you will not go to court.