LuckyPhow
LuckyPhow
Joined: May 19, 2016
  • Threads: 53
  • Posts: 683
May 22nd, 2016 at 9:13:46 AM permalink
Quote: beachbumbabs

So I still don't understand the reason /excuse for not paying the ante bonus. I do know that Florida law says that only one sidebet per table may be offered on any game. Maybe they're conflating that somehow to mean they can only pay the base game 1:1 on any win, but UTH still offers odds payouts on the Blind bet as well as the Trips bet, so if that's their story, no. I think that's what's paying the double cost of offering 3CP there.

I also understood from an overheard comment that the $1 drop is a marker, not a dollar value on the rake. It's a hands-dealt counter, and they were plugging in how many players each hand (the house was)before dealing. Again, I could be wrong, or what I learned may only pertain to that card room.


Me, too. I don't understand them removing the Ante Bonus feature. That was the only time I played a "carnival" game in a poker room. Pretty sure I won't go back soon. But, I wanted to see for myself how they played the game.
Concerning whether or not the player-banker and the casino were using something other than a $1 chip, I know it looked like a $1 chip, but it might have been some other kind of token. You said they were "plugging in" how many players played each hand at the location you saw. There was no such device at the table I played at in Gretna, Florida. That community is so small that it's population probably doubles on Saturday when the poker room gets busy. Given that the Gretna poker room is a tiny, small-town poker room, they probably use what they have and forsake anything they can avoid buying, such as special "hand-tracking" tokens or electronic table devices.
LuckyPhow
LuckyPhow
Joined: May 19, 2016
  • Threads: 53
  • Posts: 683
May 22nd, 2016 at 9:33:22 AM permalink
Quote: GWAE

Am I understanding correctly. You pay $5 as ante and $5 as pair plus. Say you have a pair and win the hand. You will be paid $10 but they take your ante? Or since you win do you keep your ante but you don't get paid on it?


Ummm... You may not be understanding correctly.
If you have a pair and win the hand (and the Dealer "qualifies" with at least a Queen-high hand), you win even money on your Ante bet and on your Play bet. And, you get to keep the chips with which you made the original bets. If the Dealer did not qualify, the Ante bet pays and the Play bet pushes (allowing you to keep -- but not win $$ on -- the Play bet).
If I understand your example, the player had a pair and beat the Dealer. In that case, the PairPlus bet pays double the original bet (whereas regular PairPlus would only pay 1-to-1). What is different here is the PairPlus bet only wins if the player beats the Dealer, whereas "standard" would pay 1-to-1 for the pair even if the Dealer had a stronger hand.
In "standard" Three-Card poker there is also an Ante Bonus payout the player receives if her/his hand is at least a straight. That payout is completely missing at the Gretna poker room. It makes for a high House Advantage on the base (Ante-Play) game.
I hope this clarifies anything confusing I wrote previously.
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
Joined: Oct 14, 2009
  • Threads: 1387
  • Posts: 23298
May 22nd, 2016 at 10:12:46 AM permalink
Okay, here is my table on the Ante bet. This assumes the same rules as Three Card Poker, except no Ante bonus.

Event Pays Combinations Probability Return
Player wins 2 97,354,684 0.239101 0.478201
Dealer doesn't qualify 1 85,493,652 0.209970 0.209970
Push 0 267,648 0.000657 0.000000
Player folds -1 132,652,800 0.325792 -0.325792
Dealer wins -2 91,401,616 0.224480 -0.448960
Total 407,170,400 1.000000 -0.086580


So, house edge of 8.68% (ouch!)
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.
GWAE
GWAE
Joined: Sep 20, 2013
  • Threads: 93
  • Posts: 9854
May 22nd, 2016 at 10:42:38 AM permalink
Quote: LuckyPhow

Ummm... You may not be understanding correctly.
If you have a pair and win the hand (and the Dealer "qualifies" with at least a Queen-high hand), you win even money on your Ante bet and on your Play bet. And, you get to keep the chips with which you made the original bets. If the Dealer did not qualify, the Ante bet pays and the Play bet pushes (allowing you to keep -- but not win $$ on -- the Play bet).
If I understand your example, the player had a pair and beat the Dealer. In that case, the PairPlus bet pays double the original bet (whereas regular PairPlus would only pay 1-to-1). What is different here is the PairPlus bet only wins if the player beats the Dealer, whereas "standard" would pay 1-to-1 for the pair even if the Dealer had a stronger hand.
In "standard" Three-Card poker there is also an Ante Bonus payout the player receives if her/his hand is at least a straight. That payout is completely missing at the Gretna poker room. It makes for a high House Advantage on the base (Ante-Play) game.
I hope this clarifies anything confusing I wrote previously.



Ahh i see. I thought you meant there was no payout at all and not just the extra pay.
Expect the worst and you will never be disappointed. I AM NOT PART OF GWAE RADIO SHOW
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
Joined: Oct 14, 2009
  • Threads: 1387
  • Posts: 23298
May 24th, 2016 at 7:16:40 PM permalink
I just wrote up a new page on the this game. Please check out my new page on the Florida variant of Three Card Poker. As always, I welcome all comments, questions, and especially corrections.
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.
miplet
miplet
Joined: Dec 1, 2009
  • Threads: 5
  • Posts: 1971
May 24th, 2016 at 7:42:12 PM permalink
My only question is on the pair plus side bet. Does the player push when he copies with less than a pair? Your table implies it does, but that doesn't make any sense to me. Maybe show it both ways.
“Man Babes” #AxelFabulous
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
Joined: Oct 14, 2009
  • Threads: 1387
  • Posts: 23298
May 24th, 2016 at 8:10:27 PM permalink
Quote: miplet

My only question is on the pair plus side bet. Does the player push when he copies with less than a pair? Your table implies it does, but that doesn't make any sense to me. Maybe show it both ways.



I asked about it in this thread and was told that it does.
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.
beachbumbabs
Administrator
beachbumbabs
Joined: May 21, 2013
  • Threads: 99
  • Posts: 14232
May 24th, 2016 at 8:39:30 PM permalink
Quote: Wizard

I asked about it in this thread and was told that it does.



I'm not sure whose answer you're using, but I clarified up thread that the pp bet must both qualify for pp pay AND beat the dealer to win. Only the exact same qualifying hand pushes. If both conditions are not satisfied, the bet loses.
If the House lost every hand, they wouldn't deal the game.
LuckyPhow
LuckyPhow
Joined: May 19, 2016
  • Threads: 53
  • Posts: 683
May 25th, 2016 at 11:17:37 AM permalink
I think BBB is correct. If I suggested otherwise, my bad. Less than a pair and the PairPlus always loses.
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
Joined: Oct 14, 2009
  • Threads: 1387
  • Posts: 23298
May 25th, 2016 at 12:05:09 PM permalink
Okay, for once and for all, what would happen if both the player and dealer had A-K-J?
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.

  • Jump to: