NokTang
NokTang
Joined: Aug 15, 2011
  • Threads: 56
  • Posts: 1314
May 23rd, 2015 at 7:26:19 PM permalink
I specifically recall, when Thomas Hearns and Sugar Ray Leonard fought to a draw, my wager on Hearns was returned.

However, the last great fight of all time, Mayweather vs. Pacman, I was given the impression that a draw was a loser for both Mayweather and Packman to win wagers. You could of course bet the draw.

In soccer, it seems quite clear that betting the draw is an option and you lose if you bet one side or the other. I was exposed to this first hand recently in Phnom Penh at Nagaworld. They had a "double chance" bet where you could bet the "draw or win" on one side or the other.

Can someone please explain how it works on fights in the USA sportsbooks. Boxing and UFC. Does a result in a "draw" mean you lose or do you get your wager back?
ThatDonGuy
ThatDonGuy
Joined: Jun 22, 2011
  • Threads: 110
  • Posts: 5446
May 24th, 2015 at 8:38:11 AM permalink
It may depend on the sport. The William Hill books' online rules say that, in boxing, bets on either boxer are declared "no action" if the fight is a draw (even if "draw" is a separate betting option, which it almost always is), but in soccer, if a draw is a separate betting option, a bet on either team to win loses if the match ends in a draw.

  • Jump to: