JV3
JV3
  • Threads: 1
October 8th, 2011 at 12:51:53 PM permalink
Our home poker game developed a controversy over a hand dealt in a pot match game.

The game is Three Card Guts Poker with low card in the hole wild

Player A was dealt 8-8-A
Player B was dealt 7-7-7
Both players stay in - pot is approx $125
(There is no "House Rule" on natural trips beating a wild card hand)

Player A showed hand and declared 3 Aces - Player B showed hand and declared 3 Aces for a split pot
Player A said Player B did not have a wild card since "there was no low card" and that Player A won and Player B must match the pot ($50 pot match cap)

Do both Players have 3 Aces?

If anyone knows of a poker rules web site stating a rule for this, please cite the URL with your answer.
PapaChubby
PapaChubby
  • Threads: 11
October 8th, 2011 at 1:38:23 PM permalink
I'm no expert on the rules of crazy poker games, but I'd say both players have 3 aces. Player A's argument that Player B has no wild card because all three are identical sounds ridiculous to me. Seven is definitely the lowest card in player B's hand. I strongly suspect that player A is an asshole, and if it were my home game I don't think I'd invite him to return.
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 121
October 8th, 2011 at 2:40:44 PM permalink
Agree with PapaChubby
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1491
October 8th, 2011 at 3:30:19 PM permalink
I third that -- both players had three aces.
"For with much wisdom comes much sorrow." -- Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV)
Doc
Doc
  • Threads: 46
October 8th, 2011 at 4:54:35 PM permalink
I'm not a poker player, but I agree with the others. If Player B does not have a wild card because of not having a solo "low" card, then Player A does not either -- Player A has a "high" card but no solo "low" card. If that is the way Player A wants to interpret the rules regarding low pairs/trips, then a pair of 8s with an Ace kicker loses to trip 7s, in my opinion.
konceptum
konceptum
  • Threads: 33