Wino84
Wino84
  • Threads: 4
July 14th, 2021 at 10:50:06 PM permalink
Dear Members,

I’m new at No Limit Hold’em and my question is, if someone is playing say a top pair of some kind and the opponent is on a draw either flush or straight, theory says that for the person on the draw, they need “adequate” pot-odds before it’s worthwhile to proceed on the turn or flop or what have you. My questions are, isn’t putting money into that pot as the person on a draw -EV at that point and so isn’t more money bet just putting more money under influence of -EV? Then, when there’s “enough” money in the pot, why would it be a “good” risk to be drawing after a certain point? When the person with the strong pair puts out a large bet to dissuade the person drawing, does it help the person with the pair? does it help the person on the draw or both? And why? My conceptual understanding needs some help. Thanks for all of your replies.
Mission146
Mission146
  • Threads: 142
Thanked by
smoothgrh
July 15th, 2021 at 5:29:46 AM permalink
Quote: Wino84

Dear Members,

I’m new at No Limit Hold’em and my question is, if someone is playing say a top pair of some kind and the opponent is on a draw either flush or straight, theory says that for the person on the draw, they need “adequate” pot-odds before it’s worthwhile to proceed on the turn or flop or what have you. My questions are, isn’t putting money into that pot as the person on a draw -EV at that point and so isn’t more money bet just putting more money under influence of -EV? Then, when there’s “enough” money in the pot, why would it be a “good” risk to be drawing after a certain point? When the person with the strong pair puts out a large bet to dissuade the person drawing, does it help the person with the pair? does it help the person on the draw or both? And why? My conceptual understanding needs some help. Thanks for all of your replies.