GWAE
GWAE
  • Threads: 93
January 13th, 2014 at 10:18:35 AM permalink
I could have easily folded the JJ with an all in ahead of me.

If you said first action raised something like $12 and you shoved all in then I would be ok with that.

However think of it another way. If the 1st person said, hey I have AK and are shoving all in. Would you call that with JJ, is it worth a coin flip for your stack?
Expect the worst and you will never be disappointed. I AM NOT PART OF GWAE RADIO SHOW
hook3670
hook3670
  • Threads: 38
January 13th, 2014 at 10:26:53 AM permalink
Thanks. I am fairly new to tournament or cash game poker. I don't want it to be an expensive tutorial, however I want to learn to play as well as possible. The problem with really low limit games is everyone just stays to see the flop and its just who ends up with better cards like a house banked game.
MidwestAP
MidwestAP
  • Threads: 22
January 13th, 2014 at 10:33:28 AM permalink
Quote: GWAE

I could have easily folded the JJ with an all in ahead of me.

If you said first action raised something like $12 and you shoved all in then I would be ok with that.

However think of it another way. If the 1st person said, hey I have AK and are shoving all in. Would you call that with JJ, is it worth a coin flip for your stack?

The first action after the flop, was all-in. If he showed me AK (not told me), I'd absolutely call with JJ. That's not a coin flip. If it was just me and him, I'd be about a 3-1 favorite. With another opponent all in with the same holding, it's even better.

I think the decision to fold or call after the flop was tough. The all in by the first opponent screams KK, QQ, but if he plays loose, or has recently taken a beat, I think a call can be justified.

In the end, you got your money in way ahead, so regardless of the result, you played it right in my opinion.
hook3670
hook3670
  • Threads: 38
January 13th, 2014 at 10:37:43 AM permalink