dutchman
dutchman
  • Threads: 7
June 27th, 2016 at 8:16:22 PM permalink
So let's say you come into a Blackjack game and haven't been checking it out beforehand: What do you start the count at? I'm new to all this so I'm not sure how I'd get anything close to an accurate count if I wasn't backcounting beforehand.
Greasyjohn
Greasyjohn
  • Threads: 135
June 27th, 2016 at 9:07:29 PM permalink
Answer: Zero.

But once about 15 years ago when they had single-deck at the Golden Nugget in Las Vegas I walked up to the table and saw a bunch of small cards on the first round all sitting on the table face up. I bought in for $300, but the dealer and pit didn't know that when I put $100 out there on the next round that it was my high bet (I would have spread $25 to $100). I won the hand. I probably had about a 4% advantage and could easily of lost the hand, but because it all happened like it did it's one of those things you just remember. I was just about breaking even for the trip up until that point so that hundred dollars really helped. I don't think I stayed more than a hand or two.
Last edited by: Greasyjohn on Jun 27, 2016
billryan
billryan
  • Threads: 240
June 27th, 2016 at 9:34:01 PM permalink
Treat any cards you haven't seen as if they are yet to be played.
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
sabre
sabre
  • Threads: 3
June 27th, 2016 at 9:51:52 PM permalink
Quote: dutchman

So let's say you come into a Blackjack game and haven't been checking it out beforehand: What do you start the count at? I'm new to all this so I'm not sure how I'd get anything close to an accurate count if I wasn't backcounting beforehand.

This is a strange question.
Romes
Romes
  • Threads: 29
June 29th, 2016 at 8:19:39 AM permalink
Quote: billryan

Treat any cards you haven't seen as if they are yet to be played.