Thread Rating:

bigfoot66
bigfoot66
  • Threads: 54
June 13th, 2012 at 10:27:10 AM permalink
Quote: Doc

When I was an undergraduate, I came home one weekend, and my mother told me that there had been a big flap. My younger brother in elementary school had missed a question on a math test and didn't understand why his answer was wrong. He gave the problem to our father who shared it with the group of engineers he worked with. They agreed with my brother's answer, but the teacher still disagreed. I read the problem and immediately recognized why there was disagreement.

Of course, I don't remember the exact problem, but it went something like this:

You may answer (a) and (b), but my additional question is this: Why was there such disagreement on the answer to part (b)? (No, it was not just someone's incompetence at arithmetic.)

B makes it clear that our traveler is going 10 miles further on the express train but does not explain if that is at the expense of 20 miles on the local segment. I would imagine the teacher was looking for 60/20 and then 70/10, but it does not make much sense to interpret the question that way as the train station could not move 10 miles. We should assume that he went from 60/20 to 70/20.
Vote for Nobody 2020!
Doc
Doc
  • Threads: 45
June 13th, 2012 at 10:34:19 AM permalink
So what's the "other" answer to (b)?
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
  • Threads: 1372
June 13th, 2012 at 10:37:53 AM permalink
RE: bigfoot's "other interpretation."

I hope nobody will mind that I say that bigfoot's interpreation is that the passenger got on the express train at a stop 10 miles further away from his destination, and changed trains at the usual station. That is certainly not how I interpreted the problem. However, I think if the question is ambiguous then any fault should lie (or is it lay) with the person framing the question. That said, if I were the teacher I would accept bigfoot's solution as well.

So what's the "other" answer to (b)?

49.090909... MPH.