Mike5tx891x
Mike5tx891x
  • Threads: 1
June 11th, 2018 at 9:22:30 AM permalink
Hello. I will apologize ahead of time as I know this may be a stupid question but I’m just getting started with learning video poker. I’m working on memorizing the 36 step optimal video poker strategy listed on Wizard of Odds for Jacks or better. For step 22 it says 4 to an inside straight, 3 high cards as having the same rating of .5319. Similarly, for step 19 it says 4 to an inside straight, 4 high cards with a rating of .5957. Is the correct interpretation of the above steps that step 22 should be 4 to an inside straight with 3 high cards and for step 19 should be 4 to an inside straight with 4 high cards. Or are we talking about two separate hands having equal value (one hand of 4 to an inside straight, one hand with 4 high cards having the same value etc….). Also which video poker training software do you guys recommend? Any feedback or examples you could provide would be extremely helpful and very much appreciated.

Thanks again

Mike
Ibeatyouraces
Ibeatyouraces
  • Threads: 68
Thanked by
Mike5tx891x
June 11th, 2018 at 9:48:50 AM permalink
.5319 and .5957 aren't the same value. An inside straight with 4 high cards is more valuable than one with 3. Or I'm just not understanding the question.

As for which software to use, others can help you there.
DUHHIIIIIIIII HEARD THAT!
gordonm888
Administrator
gordonm888
  • Threads: 60
Thanked by
Mike5tx891x
June 11th, 2018 at 10:43:04 AM permalink
I don't understand your question either.

4 to an inside straight, 4 high cards EV= 0.5957

I think this is always: AKQJx where x = 2-9.

The only tricky thing here is that AKQJ is an inside straight draw because only one rank - a 10 -will make the straight.

4 to an inside straight, 3 high cards EV= 0.5319

examples: AQJTx x=2-9
KQJ9x x =2-8
Last edited by: gordonm888 on Jun 11, 2018
So many better men, a few of them friends, are dead. And a thousand thousand slimy things live on, and so do I.